clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Everton drawn away to Fleetwood in Carabao Cup Second Round

The Blues enter the competition in the week commencing August 22nd

Fleetwood Town v Everton - Carabao Cup Third Round Photo by Alex Livesey/Getty Images

Everton have been drawn away at Fleetwood Town in the second round of the Carabao Cup. The Cod Army finished in 20th in League One last season. Fleetwood upset Wigan Athletic yesterday 1-0 in the First Round, and have a win and a loss to start the League One campaign.

The Toffees’ route to Wembley will begin on either Tuesday August 23 or Wednesday August 24, when they travel to Fleetwood, a very recent memory after the two sides just met at Highbury Stadium in the Third Round of the same competition in 2020 when Carlo Ancelotti was in charge.

That game ended 5-2 in favour of the Blues, with Richarlison grabbing a brace, and the trio of Alex Iwobi, Bernard and Moise Kean all scoring one each.

The Blues have never won this competition in their 141-year history, but have been beaten finalists twice, against Aston Villa in 1977 and to Liverpool in 1984. Their run in the tournament last season lasted only until the Third Round when they were knocked out at Queens Park Rangers in a sudden-death penalty shootout after the two sides had tied 2-2 after regular time.

The thirteen Premier League Clubs not competing in European competitions enter the Cup in Round Two alongside Burnley and Watford from the Sky Bet Championship. The Carabao Cup remains regionalised in the early rounds with the draw split into a southern and northern section until Round Three.

Northern Section

Bolton vs Aston Villa
Derby County vs West Brom or Sheffield United
Wolves vs Preston North End
Leeds United vs Barnsley
Fleetwood Town vs Everton
Tranmere Rovers vs Newcastle United
Rotherham vs Morecambe
Barrow vs Lincoln
Stockport vs Leicester City
Bradford vs Blackburn Rovers
Grimbsy vs Nottingham Forest
Shrewsbury vs Burnley

Southern Section

Stevenage vs Peterborough
Norwich vs Bournemouth
Newport County vs Portsmouth
Oxford United vs Crystal Palace
Watford vs MK Dons
Colchester United vs Brentford
Wycombe vs Bristol City
Walsall vs Charlton
Crawley vs Fulham
Cambridge United vs Southampton
Gillingham vs Exeter
Forest Green Rovers vs Brighton & Hove Albion