clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

WSL News: Wednesday’s Continental Cup match postponed

Willie Kirk’s men were due to face Manchester United on Wednesday night

Everton Women v Brighton & Hove Albion Women - Barclays FA Women’s Super League Photo by Charlotte Tattersall/Getty Images

Everton’s scheduled match against fellow WSL side Manchester United, which was set to be the second of three matchdays, in the FA Women’s Continental League Cup Group Stage has been called off. The match was planned to be played on Wednesday, November 4 at 2 p.m. ET/7 p.m. BST at Walton Hall Park.

Early Wednesday morning, however, it was announced that the match was postponed due to safety concerns on site at Walton Hall Park. Said concerns were a result of damage caused by high winds.

The announcement comes as both teams were prepared to meet at Everton’s home grounds. Both Everton and Manchester United are currently waiting further information from The FA concerning when the fixture will be rescheduled.

While caution rightly has been exercised with regards to Wednesday’s match, United Manager Casey Stoney voiced her disappointment over the postponement. “I must make it clear that we as a club wanted this game to be played and were accommodating in the options that were put forward.

She continued, “My players and staff have worked so hard in our preparation for this upcoming busy fixture period and it is therefore extremely frustrating to have it called off less than 24 hours before kick-off.”

Following a crushing defeat on Sunday in the FA Cup Final, Wednesday’s postponement perhaps benefits Everton; Willie Kirk’s side will have more time to recover — physically and mentally.

Everton’s next match is set to be played on November 8 at 7 a.m. ET/12 p.m. BST; the Toffees will travel to London for a contest against Chelsea. United, meanwhile, host league-leaders Arsenal at the same time.