clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

How To Watch Carabao Cup Second Round Draw

Everton will be entering the tournament at this stage

Everton v Rotherham United - Carabao Cup Second Round
Everton beat Rotherham United in the Second Round last season
Photo by Simon Stacpoole/Offside/Getty Images

Everton start their annual quest for a Cup in the second round of the Carabao Cup (formerly known as the League Cup, EFL Cup, among others). The 2019–20 edition of the competition is the 60th season of the competition, which is open to all 92 clubs in the Premier League and the English Football League.

All Premier League sides not involved in European games enter the competition at this stage. The 13 teams (including Everton) will join the two clubs who finished 18th & 19th in the Premier League (Cardiff City and Fulham) and 35 winners from the First Round which is completed today.

The 25 winners from the Second Round are then joined by the seven Premier League sides in Europe this season to make 32, and make it a conventional knockout competition from that point on. In addition, the first and second rounds are conducted within North and South regions to reduce travel times where possible.

Carabao Cup North: Fixtures to be played on Tuesday, Aug 13th 2019
English Football League

Ball numbers for the North:

1. Aston Villa
2. Burnley
3. Everton
4. Leicester City
5. Newcastle United
6. Sheffield United
7. Tranmere Rovers or Hull City
8. Grimsby Town or Doncaster Rovers
9. Wigan Athletic or Stoke City
10. Port Vale or Burton Albion
11. Nottingham Forest or Fleetwood Town
12. Bradford City or Preston North End
13. Blackpool or Macclesfield Town
14. Blackburn Rovers or Oldham United
15. Mansfield Town or Morecambe
16. Accrington Stanley or Sunderland
17. Scunthorpe or Derby County
18. Rochdale or Bolton Wanderers
19. Huddersfield Town or Lincoln City
20. Middlesbrough or Crewe Alexandra
21. Shrewsbury Town or Rotherham United
22. Sheffield Wednesday or Bury [Postponed]
23. Salford City or Leeds United
24. Barnsley or Carlisle United

Carabao Cup South: Fixtures to be played on Tuesday, Aug 13th 2019
English Football League

Ball numbers for the South:

1. AFC Bournemouth
2. Brighton & Hove Albion
3. Cardiff City
4. Crystal Palace
5. Fulham
6. Norwich City
7. Southampton
8. Watford FC
9. West Ham United
10. Portsmouth Town
11. Colchester United or Swindon Town
12. Wimbledon or MK Dons
13. Oxford United or Peterborough
14. Queens Park Rangers or Bristol City
15. Plymouth Argyle or Leyton Orient
16. Wycombe Wanderers or Reading FC
17. Charlton Atheltic or Forest Green Rovers
18. Gillingham or Newport County
19. Stevenage or Southend United
20. Luton Town or Ipswich Town
21. Walsall or Crawley Town
22. Bristol Rovers or Cheltenham
23. Brentford or Cambridge United
24. Coventry City or Exeter City
25. Swansea City or Northampton
26. West Bromwich Albion or Millwall

Key Rule Changes

There will be a number of changes to this year’s Carabao Cup, with extra-time abolished for all rounds except the final at Wembley. In case of a draw at full time, the tie will go straight into a penalty shoot-out. The ABBA penalty system which had been trialled previously has been eliminated in favour of the classic ABAB penalty-taker format.

With no extra-time in the two-legged semi-finals, away goals will not be used as a tiebreaker and if the two sides are tied on aggregate after the two legs, the fixture will proceed to the penalty shoot-out.

There will be no seeding in the first two rounds, only the northern and southern regions and any side can be drawn against any other side in the same region.

Video assistant refereeing (VAR) will be utilized for any fixtures played at Premier League grounds, and be used for the same four categories as in Premier League games - goal/no goal, penalty/no penalty, direct red card and mistaken identity.

Draw Details

Competition: Carabao Cup (EFL Cup), Second Round

Schedule: Second Round fixtures will be played on the week of August 26th

Date and start time: Tuesday, August 13th at approximately 1:35 p.m. PT / 4:35 p.m ET / 9:35 p.m. BST

Venue: Peninsula Stadium, after the end of Salford City vs Leeds United

Hosted by: Sky Sports presenter Laura Woods

How to Watch/Listen

TV: N/A - United States; Sky Sports Main Event, Sky Sports Football - United Kingdom

Radio: N/A

Live stream: Sky Go

Thread: Comments section below will be updated once the draw commences