clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Thursday’s Toffee Bites: Everton confirm Marco Silva has been sacked

New, comments

Recapping all the latest the Everton news

Everton FC v AFC Bournemouth - Premier League Photo by Dave Howarth - CameraSport via Getty Images

7:40pm BST, 2:40pm EST, 11:40am PST

Everton have released an official statement, saying that Silva is indeed gone and Duncan Ferguson steps in as interim manager for the Chelsea game on Saturday.

7:15pm BST, 2:15pm EST, 11:15am PST

Looks like it’s done, all the mainstream media sources are tweeting about it now.

6:45pm BST, 1:45pm EST, 10:45am PST

Is this it? Per the BBC’s Richard Askam outside Goodison Park, Marco Silva has been sacked and will not be in charge for Everton’s Saturday game against Chelsea.

The news bulletin on BBC North West said “We understand that Silva will not be in charge for Saturday’s game with Chelsea.”

4:15pm BST, 11:15am EST, 8:15am PST

All we’ve heard this morning and afternoon is that the Board members have been trickling in at Finch Farm, with Kenwright the last of them to show up at 3:30

Moshiri apparently asked all the players stay back after training so that he could address them. Looks like that’s done now and some of the players have left Finch Farm.

Follow the RBM Twitter for latest.


Your daily dose of Everton news and rumours

Yesterday, Everton fell 5-2 to Liverpool in the Merseyside Derby. The Blues will make their return to Goodison this Saturday against Chelsea. Will a new manager be in charge come then? Stay tuned to Royal Blue Mersey and follow us on Twitter for all the latest updates.

Everton fall to Liverpool 5-2. Here’s how it happened. [RBM]

Watch the highlights below.

Grade the players (and manager) from the match. [RBM]

It was a tough night for us. It is really tough for us to be in the relegation zone but if you are there you are making the same mistakes. We were not good enough,” says Marco Silva. [RBM]

Apparently there's a conference call for the full Board this morning to decide Silva's future. [Athletic]

After signing Richarlison to a new long-term contract, Lucas Digne is reportedly next on the list. [Daily Mail]

I am more fan of Spanish and Italian leagues than the English. Everyone wants to train in England, but I give priority to Spain. Maybe also because of the language, because I’m very used to talking to players who speak Spanish. So it would be easier for me,” says rumoured managerial candidate Jorge Jesus. [HITC]

Everton youngster Beni Baningime will reportedly be looking for a move this January. [Football Insider]

Wayne Rooney talks about his time at Everton and his controversial departure, including a transfer request hastily penned in the canteen. [Echo]

What To Watch

Sheffield United face Newcastle United while Arsenal play Brighton & Hove Albion.

Full schedule of games here.

Follow Us

Twitter | Instagram | Facebook