clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Everton Transfer Deadline Day Recap | Gueye stays, five leave on loan

New, comments

Will the policy remain “one in, one out” on Deadline Day?

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Everton FC v Leicester City - Premier League Photo by Jan Kruger/Getty Images

11:30pm BST / 6:30pm EST

With that tame end to the day, we’ll end our coverage here too. Thank you for joining us on this most quiet of all January deadline days. We leave you with this comprehensive look at the five players who moved today, and where this leaves them and Everton.


11:05pm BST / 6:05pm EST

The definitive source of all Belgian football Kristof says that Bolasie is done, with no loan-to-buy clauses.

11:00pm BST / 6:00pm EST

That’s it, the window is now slammed shut*, did Everton get any deals over the line*?

(* - mandatory transfer window cliches)

Quick recap - three young ‘uns went out on loan, of which one was reassigned. From the senior squad Martina was also reassigned while Bolasie’s deal is still up in the air, not clear if it got done or not.

The big news is that Everton held off Paris St. Germain’s advances for Idrissa Gueye - the midfielder might be disappointed but we trust he will be back to his normal self come Saturday in a big six-pointer against Wolves.


10:50pm BST / 5:50pm EST

There it is! Not Gueye, silly! Beni Baningime’s move to Wigan on loan confirmed.

10:15pm BST / 5:15pm EST

Sounds like there’s a bit of a dispute in the media about this second bid for Gueye. On one hand is the Telegraph saying that PSG’s second bid for Gana was earlier in the day and that they haven’t been back since, and on the other is a number of other respected media sources insisting that PSG are still lurking.


10:00pm BST / 5:00pm EST

One hour to go!


9:45pm BST / 4:45pm EST

Oh what’s this then.

Gueye has been a consummate professional so far, especially with this PSG stuff, so this is a bit out of the Blue. That said, if joining PSG was really his dream then it’s understandable why he’s unhappy.


9:25pm BST / 4:25pm EST

There were rumours that this had happened, but here’s confirmation now.

9:15pm BST / 4:15 pm EST

Some light reading here for you.

9:00pm / 4:00pm EST

More youth news! Callum Connolly has been recalled from Wigan Athletic, only to be sent to Bolton Wanderers for the rest of the season.

8:50pm / 3:50pm EST

Oh it’s all happening now. Another youngster has gone out on loan. Pete, who does our loan recaps, is going to have his hands full pretty soon.

8:40pm BST / 3:40pm EST

Where’s Beni Baningime I hear you asking.. there he is!

8:15pm BST / 3:15pm EST

Some news on the Bolasie front - the winger has landed in Brussels and is headed to Anderlecht for a medical, presumably.

7:46pm BST / 2:46 EST

If ever you needed a reminder of how we’ve wasted money in previous transfer windows, there’s this.

7:30pm BST / 2:30pm EST

Since it’s gone a bit quiet on the Everton front, here’s a signing video you’ll enjoy, and for fans of Peter Crouch, you’ll be glad to hear he’s back in the Premier League with Burnley.

6:15pm BST / 1:15pm EST

We have confirmation from Everton on the Cuco Martina news. At least that he’s headed out to Feyenoord on loan.

5:30pm BST / 12:30pm EST

Starting to sound like Silva and Everton have won this round against PSG. Multiple outlets on both sides of the channel are now saying that the French side are moving on.

4:00pm BST / 11:00am EST

Gueye to stay?!

Paris Saint-Germain have given up hope of signing Idrissa Gana Gueye despite the midfielder submitting a formal transfer request.

Everton have steadfastly refused to budge in their stance that Gueye is not for sale during this window and rejected bids of £21.5million and an improved offer of £26.2million for the 29-year-old.

Gueye was desperate to secure the move but Everton have held firm despite pressure from PSG who are keen to add a defensive midfielder before they face Manchester United in the Champions League. They are now considering other options having believed, at one stage, that they would sign Gueye.

(The Telegraph)

3:30pm BST / 10:30am EST

ACTION!! Cuco Martina is back!! Luckily it’s only because he’s being permanently sold (at the end of the season) to Feyenoord, thereby going off the Everton payroll, yay!

3:00pm BST / 10:00am EST

Lille midfielder Thiago Mendes has been mooted as a Gueye replacement for either PSG or Evertonm, depending on who doesn’t get him. He also has an offer from China but will wait to see if he gets called by either European side.


2:30pm BST / 9:30am EST

Matthew Pennington has been playing well on loan for Ipswich Town, but the Tractor Boys are still bottom of the Championship. Now it looks like Frank Lampard’s Derby County who are chasing promotion want him on loan. (Derby Telegraph)
Playing for a top Championship side is definitely better for the defender from the Blues perspective.


2:15pm BST / 9:15am EST

Is this something? Yannick Bolasie going abroad?

1:50pm BST / 8:50am EST

Here’s a name we haven’t heard in a while - Kevin Mirallas. Apparently Fiorentina are looking to make his loan deal permanent, and are willing to pay about £6 million (Sport Witness). Sell?


1:30pm BST / 8:30am EST

Further confirmation that there has been no second bid for Gueye, and that Everton are holding firm outright refusing to talk to PSG anymore!
Maybe Marco Silva will still be manager at the end of today after all

1:10pm BST / 8:10pm EST

The Michy to Everton story seems pretty dead now, but here are some of the Premier League teams interested in Cenk Tosun - Burnley, Brighton & Hove Albion, AFC Bournemouth.. thought Crystal Palace were in for him too.

1:05pm BST / 8:05am EST

Well, nothing really happened after that. But there is this, no second bid for Gana yet.

12:15pm BST / 7:15am EST

Is it all kicking off now? Apparently Gana is already in Paris waiting for the two clubs to work out a deal.

12:00pm BST / 7:00am EST

Looks like Batshuayi will not be coming to Everton after all.

Also Denis Suarez to Arsenal appears to be done.


11:45am BST / 6:45am EST

Everton quite insistent that Gueye is not leaving per the Mirror, and will go to the lengths of reporting PSG if needed.

11:30am BST / 6:30am EST

On the other hand we have Get French Football News reporting Sky Germany saying that DC United’s Luciano Acosta is pretty much signed and sealed.

On one hand, the Gueye-to-PSG talk is not dead by any means.

11:00am BST / 6:00am EST

James McCarthy loan chatter heating up - surely Everton will not let both him and Idrissa Gueye go today?

10:30am BST / 5:30am EST

TEAMtalk are playing up this Arsenal angle for Gueye.

Meanwhile, talkSPORT insist that with Mesut Ozil refusing to move to PSG, the Gunners are actually interested in getting one of their fringe midfielders instead.

10:15am BST / 5:15am EST

Not much new to report here, but apparently Michy Batshuayi wants to move to Everton, who will only spend the cash if they have an outgoing transfer.

10:00am BST / 5:00am EST

Is it going to be that kind of January Deadline Day?


Transfer Deadline Day last summer was a thriller for Everton, with the Blues completing a number of deals to beef up the squad. While the season hasn’t quite gone how we all would have liked, it’s clear that Marcel Brands and Marco Silva are building the team in the image they want while trying to undo damage from years past when their incumbents were in charge.

The Toffees have already loaned out some players, but there could be more action today too. The club has taken the stance so far that there will be no incoming players until transfers out happen, but we will see how far that holds today.

Team Needs

The Blues have lacked teeth in the striker department with Richarlison, Cenk Tosun and Dominic Calvert-Lewin all getting a shot at becoming the starter - will an established striker get added today?

Right back and midfield are also areas of concern, Seamus Coleman appears to be past his best while Gylfi Sigurdsson and Andre Gomes look like they’ve been run into the ground after playing virtually every game for the last couple of months.

Potential Deals

Possible In:
Michy Batshuayi, Thomas Meunier
(Amadou Diawara and Wilmar Barrios in case Gueye leaves)

Possible Out:
Idrissa Gueye, Yannick Bolasie, James McCarthy, Cenk Tosun, Morgan Schneiderlin, Tyias Browning, Antony Evans

Confirmed In
N/A

Confirmed Out
Kieran Dowell*, Mason Holgate*, Shayne Lavery*, Oumar Niasse*

*- loan