clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Everton’s only FIFPro representative is yet to play for the club

FIFPro and FIFA unveil shortlist of 55 best players around the world

Every year since 2004, FIFPro (the world players’ union) and FIFA (the game’s international governing body) announce a shortlist of 55 players as voted for by their own peers in every positional category, before announcing the ‘World 11’.

Everton have just one representative in this year’s shortlist, and it happens to be a footballer that is yet to play a single minute for the Blues. Yerry Mina had an outstanding World Cup for Colombia, and that brought him into the international limelight while Everton Director of Football was trying to get a transfer deal sealed for the defender.

In the end, the Toffees were able to capture the centrehalf for about £28m right before the end of the summer transfer window, with Manchester United and Lyon very interested as well.

Here is the comprehensive list of all the nominated players for their performances in the 2017-18 season:


Gianluigi BuffonItaly, Juventus/Paris Saint-Germain; Thibaut CourtoisBelgium, Chelsea/Real Madrid CF; David De GeaSpain, Manchester United FC; Keylor NavasCosta Rica, Real Madrid CF; Marc-Andre ter StegenGermany, FC Barcelona


Jordi Alba – Spain, FC Barcelona; Dani AlvesBrazil, Paris Saint-Germain; Daniel Carvajal – Spain, Real Madrid CF; Giorgio Chiellini – Italy, Juventus FC; Virgil van Dijk – The Netherlands, Southampton/Liverpool; Diego GodinUruguay, Atletico Madrid; Mats Hummels – Germany, FC Bayern Munchen; Joshua Kimmich – Germany, FC Bayern Munchen; Dejan LovrenCroatia, Liverpool FC; Marcelo – Brazil, Real Madrid CF; Yerry Mina – Colombia, FC Barcelona/Everton FC; Benjamin PavardFrance, VfB Stuttgart; Gerard Pique – Spain, FC Barcelona; Sergio Ramos – Spain, Real Madrid CF; Thiago Silva – Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain; Kieran TrippierEngland, Tottenham Hotspur; Samuel Umtiti – France, FC Barcelona; Raphaël Varane – France, Real Madrid CF; Sime Vrsaljko – Croatia, Atletico Madrid/Inter; Kyle Walker – England, Manchester City FC


Sergio Busquets – Spain, FC Barcelona; Casemiro – Brazil, Real Madrid CF; Philippe Coutinho – Brazil, Liverpool/FC Barcelona; Kevin De Bruyne – Belgium, Manchester City FC; Eden Hazard – Belgium, Chelsea FC; Andres Iniesta – Spain, FC Barcelona/Vissel Kobe; Isco – Spain, Real Madrid CF; N’Golo Kante – France, Chelsea FC; Toni Kroos – Germany, Real Madrid CF; Nemanja MaticSerbia, Manchester United FC; Luka Modric – Croatia, Real Madrid CF; Paul Pogba – France, Manchester United FC; Ivan Rakitic – Croatia, FC Barcelona; David Silva – Spain, Manchester City FC; Arturo VidalChile, FC Bayern Munchen/FC Barcelona


Karim Benzema – France, Real Madrid CF; Edinson Cavani – Uruguay, Paris Saint-Germain; Paulo Dybala – Juventus FC, Argentina; Antoine Griezmann – France, Atletico Madrid; Harry Kane – England, Tottenham Hotspur; Robert LewandowskiPoland, FC Bayern Munchen; Romelu Lukaku – Belgium, Manchester United FC; Mario Mandzukic – Croatia, Juventus FC; Sadio Mane – Senegal, Liverpool FC; Kylian Mbappe – France, Paris Saint-Germain; Lionel Messi – Argentina, FC Barcelona; Neymar Junior – Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain; Cristiano RonaldoPortugal, Real Madrid CF/Juventus FC; Mohammed SalahEgypt, Liverpool FC; Luis Suarez – Uruguay, FC Barcelona