clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Everton Transfer Deadline Day Recap | One of the best ever?

New, comments

Take a bow Brands.. over to you Silvarands.. over to you Silva

10:30pm BST / 5:30pm EST

Alan Myers has left Finch Farm, which tells us we’re done for the night here. If Kurt Zouma’s loan deal fell through, then we would’ve heard something, so no news is good news in this case. Besides, if we’ve learned anything today about the Marcel Brands regime, is that it gets the job done. So if Marco Silva wanted Zouma, he’s likely got him and the hold-up is just the media stuff, the pics, videos, etc.

That’s it from us on this live tracker, plenty of content on the site for you to read between today and tomorrow, thanks for joining us on this most exciting of deadline days, it really did turn out to be a wonderful Christmas after all.


8:30pm BST / 3:30pm EST

More announcements, this time with player quotes and squad numbers for Mina and Gomes.


8:00pm BST / 3:00pm EST

We have confirmation! Not about Zouma unfortunately, but Everton officially announce Mina and Gomes.


7:10pm BST / 2:10pm EST

All the media sources are saying that Zouma loan deal is done.. but we’re Evertonians.. we worry.


6:50pm BST / 1:50pm EST

Ten minutes to go.. Everton fans on tenterhooks about Zouma.


6:00pm BST / 1:00pm EST

Nikola Vlasic is getting some interest from Russia. The Blues can still send him out even with the window closed.


5:45pm BST / 12:45pm EST

Zouma is having a medical right now, not clear where he is though as Sky say they saw him at Cobham (Chelsea training facility) 15 minutes ago.


5:20pm BST / 12:20pm EST

Alan Myers reporting from Finch Farm confirmed that there is one more name (maybe!).. we’re hearing it is Kurt Zouma as we expected.

Also added that Mo Besic move to Boro is off, no reason given.


5:02pm BST / 12:02pm EST

The window has officially closed, but the Andre Gomes loan did come through.


4:58pm BST / 11:58am EST

Barcelona announce Mina has left for Everton.


4:45pm BST / 11:45am EST

Finally! Bernard!


4:30pm BST / 11:30am EST

Alan Myers thinks there’s not enough time now to do a permanent deal for Yannick Bolasie, and Everton are adamant he doesn’t go out on loan.

This leaves only the Championship and the rest of Europe for Yala - Turkey has been mentioned in the past, but the player wanted to stay in the Premier League.


4:15pm BST / 11:15am EST

Just waiting on some official announcements now.. hearing Mina and Gomes are done, and Zouma close too.


3:55pm BST / 10:55am EST

Just over an hour to go now, and we hear the Bernard announcement is very imminent!


3:40pm BST / 10:40am EST

Whoa whoa whoa! Are Everton seriously getting Mina and bringing in Kurt Zouma too?!

“Everton has an agreement with Chelsea to get the loan from the International French Kurt Zouma. The Toffees must now complete the formalities around the arrival of the player before 1800 hrs.”


3:00pm BST / 10am EST

Yerry Mina update - this is going to come down to the wire it looks like.

“Meeting underway in BCN with Oscar Grau (CEO of FCB) directing the negotiations of the departures of Yerry and André with Everton. Agents of Yerry arrived recently”


2:40pm BST / 9:40pm EST

Some news about Theo Walcott.. but it’s not transfer-related, relax!

Alan Myers is at Finch Farm for Sky Sports today, by the way.


2:15pm BST / 9:15am EST

More action! Youngsters Kieran Dowell and Callum Connolly have both signed new three-year-deals [RBM], with Connolly joining Antonee Robinson on loan at Wigan, under Evertonian legend Joe Royle. [RBM]


1:50pm BST / 8:50am EST

Everton lose their mo.. Mo Besic that is. The word is it’s a permanent deal to Middlesbrough for £6m - good luck Mo! [Myers]


12:40pm BST / 7:40am EST

Even Cuco Martina is getting a look-in today! Loan move to Middlesbrough coming up for the defender. [O’Rourke]


12:20pm BST / 7:20am EST

Ademola Lookman will NOT be leaving Everton during this summer transfer window. At least not on Deadline Day, the Bundesliga’s transfer window doesn’t close until the end of the month. [RBM]


12:10pm BST / 7:10am EST

There’s growing interest in Yannick Bolasie, but the Blues are not interested in just loaning him out, sale only. [RBM]


11:50am BST / 6:50am EST

Andre Gomes is also undergoing his Everton medical in Spain. [Mundo Deportivo]


11:30am BST / 6:30am EST

Finally some action! Yerry Mina is undergoing a medical (for Everton!) in Barcelona right now. [RBM]


11:15am BST / 6:15am EST

Chelsea midfielder Tiemoue Bakayoko is headed off to AC Milan after his agent met with club officials last night. [Mail]


10:45am BST / 5:45am EST

Mo Besic being chased by Middlesbrough as well. The sum talked about is £4m, which is basically what we paid for him in 2014 when we got him from Ferencváros.

More on the Besic story here. [RBM]


10:20am BST / 5:30am EST

Yannick Bolasie wants to stay in the Premier League, and the two suitors are Burnley and his former side Crystal Palace. [Mirror]

The U-23s are not getting any players added today. [Echo]


10:00am BST / 5:00am EST

Good Morning! Happy Deadline Day all!

Bernard’s medical is done and he should be getting announced any time now. [Mail]

Yerry Mina apparently is very close (stop us if you’re actually tired of hearing that). [Sky]

There’s some movement on the Andre Gomes front too. [Mail]

Mo Besic might be headed to Leeds. [Echo]

Sandro could leave too, but not necessarily today with the European window still open. [RBM]


Transfer Deadline Day can be one of the most exciting days of the year in the football calendar, especially if your team is going to be active like we expect Everton to be.

The Toffees have already bought and loaned out a handful of players, but there are still expected to be both incomings and outgoings in the next few hours. The signing of Bernard on a free transfer from Shakhtar Donetsk should also be announced today.

Team Needs

The Blues, obviously, desperately need at least one center back, and probably two. Another central midfielder would not hurt at all, either.

Potential Deals

Possible In:
Bernard, Yerry Mina, Kurt Zouma, Andre Gomes, Badou N’Diaye, Tiemoue Bakayoko, Danny Drinkwater

Possible Out:
Callum Connolly, Matthew Pennington, Yannick Bolasie, Ademola Lookman, Cuco Martina, Muhamed Besic, Nikola Vlasic, Sandro Ramirez

Confirmed In
Richarlison, Lucas Digne, Joao Virginia

Confirmed Out
Kevin Mirallas*, Ashley Williams*, Antonee Robinson*, Davy Klaassen, Wayne Rooney, Joel Robles, Shani Tarashaj*, Luke Garbutt*, Conor Grant, Henry Onyekuru*, Ramiro Funes Mori

*- loan