clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Thursday’s Toffee Bites: Everton find out next Carabao Cup opponents today

New, comments

Blues came through second round test against Rotherham last night

Everton v Rotherham United - Carabao Cup Second Round
Dominic Calvert-Lewin scoring last night
Photo by Alex Livesey/Getty Images

Your daily dose of Everton news and rumours

Everton beat Rotherham United 3-1 last night to get their name into today’s Third Round draw of the Carabao Cup. The actual draw will be conducted during the ‘EFL Matters’, which starts at 7pm BST (2pm EST, 11am PST) on Sky Sports Football and Sky Sports Main Event.

This is the stage that the seven teams in Europe also join the competition, and with all teams eligible to play anyone else, we face the prospect of some mouthwatering ties coming up as there are exactly 16 Premier League clubs left of the 32 teams in the draw., with 11 Championship, four League 1 and one League 2 side making up the remainder.

Here are all the headlines, stories, highlights and comments from the game last night, in one place. [RBM]

Just before the game yesterday, Everton dropped an injury bombshell saying we were going to be without some key players for some time. [RBM]

Former Toffees manager Sam Allardyce is threatening to sue over the sting operation that saw him get sacked as England manager. [BBC]

England will name their first international squad since the World Cup, and Jordan Pickford should be the starter but will Theo Walcott get a look in? [Mirror]

Before the Carabao Cup draw, there will be a slightly higher-profile draw taking place today too, as we’ll find out who plays who in the group stages of the Champions League too. That ceremony will start at 5pm BST (12pm EST, 9am PST) and can be watched on the UEFA website, as well as on BT Sport in the UK and Univision Deportes in the US.

What To Watch

There’s a full slate of second leg games in the Europa League qualifiers today, click here to see the schedule.

Follow Us

Twitter | Instagram | Facebook