clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Meatball Molly continues to convert UFC fighters to Everton

Blues missionary is spreading the good word

UFC Fight Night: Werdum v Tybura Photo by Mark Kolbe/Getty Images

“Meatball Molly” is one of the newest fighters on the UFC roster, and is preparing for her grand introduction on UFC Fight Night 130 in her hometown of Liverpool by inculcating her love for Everton among some of her new colleagues.

Molly McCann was signed up as a Cage Warriors champion (7-1 MMA, 0-0 UFC) and will take on Gillian Robertson (4-2 MMA, 1-0 UFC) on May 27th at the Echo Arena on a packed card, but took the opportunity to take fellow fighters Stephen Thompson and Manny Bermudez on a tour of Goodison Park yesterday.

Whatever she said to Wonderboy, it appeared to have worked as he discovered he was born not manufactured as soon as he stepped out onto the hallowed ground.

Thompson will take on local boy Darren Till, and several Everton supporters will find themselves torn now that Wonderboy has chosen the Blues. He was suitably impressed when informed about the history of the Blues, founded in 1878 as he went on to comment:

“So you guys basically invented football, then?”

There was some good/bad news for his fellow fighter Bermudez later in the day after his fight was scratched from the card following the withdrawal of his opponent Davey Grant due to a staph infection.

McCann is very excited to make her UFC debut in front of her biggest fans on Sunday:

“My UFC debut got announced here at Goodison Park. Everton got the scoop, and let everyone know who I am and what I’m about. The support has been amazing.

“It’s not every day, or any day for that matter, that a UFC fighter gets to make their debut in their hometown, particularly a city that UFC is visiting for the first time.

”Listen, it’s thing of dreams to make my debut of Liverpool. Who gets to do that? It’s written in the stars for that kind of thing to happen.”

The latest UFC Fight Night 130 card is shown here -

MAIN CARD (6pm BST, 1pm EST, 10am PST)

  • Stephen Thompson vs. Darren Till
  • Neil Magny vs. Craig White
  • Arnold Allen vs. Mads Burnell
  • Makwan Amirkhani vs. Jason Knight
  • Eric Spicely vs. Darren Stewart

PRELIMINARY CARD (4pm BST, 11 am EST, 8am PST)

  • Claudio Henrique da Silva vs. Nordine Taleb
  • Tom Breese vs. Daniel Kelly
  • Carlo Pedersoli Jr. vs. Brad Scott
  • Molly McCann vs. Gillian Robertson

PRELIMINARY CARD (3pm BST, 10am EST, 7am PST)

  • Trevor Smith vs. Elias Theodorou
  • Lina Lansberg vs. Gina Mazany

Here’s wishing Molly and her fellow Blues fighting on Sunday all the very best!