clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Everton announce 22-man squad for the rest of the 2017-18 season

Blues don’t fill remaining three spots on roster

Everton Training and Press Conference Photo by Tony McArdle/Everton FC via Getty Images

There was quite a bit of turnover in the Everton squad between the list submitted in September and the one announced today after the conclusion of the January transfer window.

The three new additions from last month are all in there obviously - Cenk Tosun, Theo Walcott and loan addition Eliaquim Mangala. Among those who left the club and not in the squad are Ross Barkley, Gethin Jones, Kevin Mirallas, Muhamed Besic, Sandro Ramirez and Aaron Lennon. Sam Byrne has also been removed from the previous list.

That left a net of four spaces available. One of those was taken by Luke Garbutt as noted by Sam Allardyce previously.

25 Squad players (*=Home grown)

Baines, Leighton John*

Bolasie, Yannick*

Coleman, Seamus

Funes Mori, Jose Ramiro

Garbutt, Luke*

Gueye, Idrissa Gana

Jagielka, Philip Nikodem*

Keane, Michael Vincent*

Klaassen, Davy

Mangala, Eliaquim

Martina, Rhu-Endly Aurelio Jean-Carlo

McCarthy, James*

Niasse, Baye Oumar

Pickford, Jordan Lee*

Robles Blazquez, Joel

Rooney, Wayne Mark*

Schneiderlin, Morgan*

Sigurdsson, Gylfi Thor*

Stekelenburg, Maarten

Tosun, Cenk

Walcott, Theo James*

Williams, Ashley Errol*

James McCarthy, who will likely miss many more months with his broken leg has been included in the squad. Ademola Lookman was not on the original squad list being an Under-23 player and therefore his loan move to RB Leipzig in Germany is unacknowledged here.

Likewise for Tom Davies, Mason Holgate, Dominic Calvert-Lewin and Nikola Vlasic, who are all under the age of 23 as well.

Davy Klaassen and Morgan Schneiderlin, widely expected to leave during January both stayed and remain in the squad.