clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

How Everton would look under proposed Premier League foreign player quota

Clubs to decide on a proposal to reduce foreign players

Everton v Newcastle United - Premier League Photo by Clive Brunskill/Getty Images

The Premier League meets on Thursday, and one of the topics apparently up for discussion is the number of foreign players teams should be allowed to have in their squads.

Currently, a club can name up to 17 foreigners in their 25-man squad submitted to the Premier League, and the new proposal says that should be cut to 12.

The Premier League released a statement saying:

“Like many other organisations dependent on a combination of domestic and international talent, we are waiting to better understand what the political and regulatory landscape will be after the UK leaves the European Union.

“Access to talented footballers from across Europe has played a key part in the growth of the Premier League, with match attendance and global interest increasing significantly as high-quality foreign players have taken their place in the competition with and against the best British and Irish players.

”We have held positive discussions with Government about the importance of access to European players for our clubs, and the many cultural and economic benefits a globally popular Premier League brings to the UK.”

Everton this season submitted a 23-player list to the Premier League, of which only 10 would be considered foreign. With Oumar Niasse and Maarten Stekelenburg expected to leave after this season, and Kurt Zouma and Andre Gomes returning to their parent clubs, that would leave the number at six with plenty of room for more transfers this coming summer.

Everton’s Premier League squad

Homegrown players indicated by an *

Anicio Caldeira Duarte, Bernard
Baines, Leighton John*
Browning, Tyias*
Charsley, Henry William James*
Coleman, Seamus
Digne, Lucas
Galloway, Brendan Joel Zibusiso*
Gueye, Idrissa Gana
Hewelt, Mateusz Tomasz*
Holgate, Mason Anthony*
Jagielka, Philip Nikodem*
Keane, Michael Vincent*
McCarthy, James*
Mina Gonzalez, Yerry Fernando
Niasse, Baye Oumar
Pickford, Jordan Lee*
Schneiderlin, Morgan*
Sigurdsson, Gylfi Thor*
Stekelenburg, Maarten
Tavares Gomes, Andre Filipe
Tosun, Cenk
Walcott, Theo James*
Zouma, Kurt Happy