clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Everton Transfer Deadline Day January 2018: Live Tracker

New, comments

All the rumours, deals, activity and more as they happen

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Everton Training and Press Conference Photo by Tony McArdle/Everton FC via Getty Images

1:05am BST / 8:05pm EST

It’s a wrap?!

I think at this point we can call it a day/night. Thanks Blues for being here, and for reading and commenting as you have done. More coverage tomorrow but for now we’re all headed for a pint or three before getting some shuteye - goodnight and COYB!


12:45am BST / 7:45pm EST

FINALLY! Whew, this one took all day and all night evidently. Everton have now officially announced Mangala, and it’s a decent video (mercifully)!


12:00am BST / 7:00pm EST

Per Sky Sports, one of the four deals to have submitted Premier League Deal Sheets is Eliaquim Mangala – Manchester City to Everton. These can be completed by 01:00 but announced by the club whenever they wish. Looking unlikely Everton will announce it this late in the night.


11:45pm BST / 6:45pm EST

We have one piece of confirmed news! Muhamed Besic goes out on loan to Middlesbrough for the rest of the season.


11:30pm BST / 6:30pm EST

Per Sky Sports, Mangala has been assigned a shirt number even though the actual loan deal has yet to be confirmed.


11:00pm BST / 6:00pm EST

The window is now closed! Well, technically closed, even though as long as the famous ‘Deal Sheet’ is in.

Sky Sports’ Bryan Swanson explains how clubs could still sign players even after the 11pm deadline.

Premier League clubs can submit a Deal Sheet between 9-11pm tonight

Form must include fees and signatures from both clubs;

Form must also include signature from player;

If received by 11pm, clubs have until 01:00 to complete transfers;

For international transfers – including loans – all documents must be uploaded to FIFA system by midnight.


10:00pm BST / 5:00pm EST

Plenty of post-match coverage after a game the Blues should have won by miles.

Then there’s some very interesting comments from Sam Allardyce as well regarding transfers.


8:40pm BST / 3:40pm EST

Per Sky Sports, Eliaquim Mangala is at Finch Farm right now undergoing a medical.


8:30pm BST / 3:30pm EST

What a first half for Everton! More appropriately, what a last twenty or so minutes - the Blues looked dominant, moving the ball with ease, getting into spaces and defending well (after Ndidi’s header had hit the bar that is).

Theo Walcott has opened his Everton scoring account with aplomb, with both goals as the Blues lead 2-0.


7:40pm BST / 2:40pm EST

Some drama here before kickoff - Ademola Lookman will be going out on loan to RB Leipzig in Germany - unconfirmed reports that there is no buyout clause.


7:00pm BST / 2:00pm EST

MOTD commentator Conor McNamara: “Just spoke to Sam Allardyce in the tunnel at Goodison. He says five of his players have been approached by other clubs today, but none of them are going anywhere.”

Wonder who the five are?


6:50pm BST / 1:50pm EST

There’s a game on tonight, and quite a bit of handwringing now that the starting lineup has been announced.

Everton XI: Pickford, Coleman, Jagielka, Keane, Martina; Davies, Gueye; Walcott, Rooney, Sigurdsson; Niasse

Subs: Robles, Kenny, Williams, Schneiderlin, Bolasie, Calvert-Lewin, Tosun


6:20pm BST / 1:20pm EST

Sky Sports reporter Vinny O’Connor at Finch Farm claiming that Eliaquim Mangala is on his way to the training facility with Robert Elstone running the show as Sam Allardyce is now at Goodison Park for tonight’s game.


6:00pm BST / 1:00pm EST

Former Everton prospect Callum Wright looks to have found his way to the Premier League, with Leicester City confirming his signing from Blackburn Rovers. He left the Blues when he was 13, and was considered one of the hottest young properties this January transfer window.


5:45pm BST / 12:45pm EST

DONE DEAL! Not who you’re thinking though, calm down. Everton Under-23 goalie Louis Gray goes on loan to League Two Carlisle United for the rest of the season.


5:15pm BST / 12:15pm EST

Getting closer on the Mangala loan deal to Everton now.

Mangala deal agreed in principle with City. Loan until the end of the season. Everton will cover wages. No fee. Effectively up to the player now whether he wants the move (Alan Myers).


5:10pm BST / 12:10pm EST

Looks like the Mahrez-to-City deal is off. Leicester wanted a player plus money package worth nearly £95m, while City were only willing to go close to £60m.

Will be interesting to see how this affects the player’s relationship with the club. He certainly won’t be playing against Everton today.

Another player unlikely to be at Goodison Park tonight is Andy King, with Swansea City being linked with the player.


4:30pm BST / 11:30am EST

Interesting rumours regarding Arsenal looking to follow up their blockbuster signing of Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang with.. David Luiz from Chelsea!

Can’t wait to see Luiz playing on the same team as Granit Xhaka - the potential for utter chaos seems unending.


3:30pm BST / 10:30am EST

Klaassen loan move to Napoli seems dead and buried now (Phil McNulty).


3:05pm BST / 10:05am EST

Silly money at play here. Sky Sports reporting that Manchester City’s final offer for Riyad Mahrez is £65m plus an unnamed player. Yowza.

PS - wouldn’t it be hilarious if that unnamed player was Mangala


2:40pm BST / 9:40am EST

There might be more to this Mangala loan than meets the eye -

Everton’s move for Manchester City centre-back Eliaquim Mangala is close to completion. The loan is now likely to include a provision to make the deal permanent in the summer (Telegraph).


2:30pm BST / 9:30am EST

Remember Samuel Eto’o? Everton even got a shout-out on this excellent announcement video for the veteran forward signing with Turkish side Atiker Konyaspor.


2:20pm BST / 9:20am EST

Here’s our story on the Davy Klaassen move to Napoli (and possibly Lazio too) falling through.


1:55pm BST / 8:55am EST

Sandro Ramirez has passed his Sevilla medical, the loan deal is definitely on (Phil Kirkbride).

Here’s wishing Sandro all the best.


1:40pm BST / 8:40am EST

Looks like the Klaassen-to-Napoli deal has fallen through now.

Issues over image rights and the fact that Davy is Europa League cup-tied have led to talks between Everton and Napoli stalling (Paul Brown).

A blessing in disguise? You know once he left he’d probably never come back.


1:20pm BST / 8:20am EST

Leicester City players unhappy with Mahrez over failure to turn up for training yesterday, and his decision not to travel to Everton for tonight’s game (SkySports).

Good news for the Blues if he’s not playing, for sure.


1:15pm BST / 8:15am EST

Everton youngster Fraser Hornby is catching plenty of attention following his exploits this season. The Blues have turned down some loan offers for the Under-23 and Scotland youth international (Liverpool Echo).

Hornby is definitely one of the more polished youngsters, seems odd we won’t send him out to get more competitive experience.


12:30pm BST / 7:30am EST

Mixed messages coming through on the Davy Klaassen to Napoli deal.

Sky Italia claiming the loan is close to being done (Sky Sports).

Other sources saying it’s hit another snag since Klaassen cannot play in the Europa League (Di Marzio).

If Napoli didn’t realize that when they first started talking to the Blues about the player, they must be as daft as Everton’s scouting department.


12:20pm BST / 7:20am EST

Another name linked with Everton - Leander Dendoncker.

Anderlecht have rejected an official offer from West Ham United, they want to keep him until the end of the season, willing to sell for around £20m (Kristof Terreur).

Would love to see Everton swoop in here, sign the player and loan him back to Anderlecht like we did with Henry Onyekuru.


11:00am BST / 6:00am EST

Outgoing transfers are going to destabilize Leicester City today.

Man City have placed a third offer for Riyad Mahrez and that is where the deal is at the moment. The offer still remains, but we still do not know what price Leicester want for him. However, what we do know is that Leicester do want far more than the £60m City have bid for the player (Sky Sports)

Newcastle agree deal with Leicester to take striker Islam Slimani on loan until the end of the season, according to Sky sources. (Sky Sports)

Well then.


10:30am BST / 5:30am EST

Newcastle are sending striker Aleksandar Mitrovic on loan to Anderlecht (Sky Sports).

Looks like the Belgian club do not have any confidence that Henry Onyekuru will be back in a month or so.


10:00am BST / 5:00am EST

Sounds like Chelsea and Antonio Conte are starting to discover that Ross Barkley is not all that, or all there either (The Mirror).

Conte ordered Barkley to disrobe about ten times before the order finally clicked with his new signing, leaving the Italian riled.

“My worry is not about his physical condition, but only to go into our idea of football, to understand the movement without the ball and with the ball. To understand this. My worry is not about his physical condition, but to get into our idea of football.”


8:00am BST / 3:00am EST

It will most certainly be a very busy day today, even without any transfer window activity, because the Blues will be hosting Leicester City. We’re going to try to keep both angles covered today with your regular matchday features as well as whatever’s going on with transfers.

The day got off to the oddest start with Paul Joyce tweeting at 4 in the morning that the Blues were interested in Eliaquim Mangala, we’ll keep an eye on that story as the day goes on.


Transfer Deadline Day can be one of the most exciting days of the year in the football calendar, especially if your team is going to be active like we expect Everton to be.

The Toffees started off January well getting Cenk Tosun and Theo Walcott signed, but since then it’s all gone quite with most of the chatter centering around players leaving the club.

TEAM NEEDS

There are still some key spots on the team that need to be filled, primarily left back and ideally a midfielder who does better linking the defence and the forward line, which have remained in two different time zones for most of the season.

POTENTIAL DEALS

Keep an eye out for outgoing deals - Davy Klaassen could be close to a loan move to Napoli, and Muhamed Besic has been linked with a loan move to Middlesbrough.

CONFIRMED IN

Senior team - Cenk Tosun - LINK; Theo Walcott - LINK

Youth team -

In on loan - Eliaquim Mangala - LINK

CONFIRMED OUT

Senior team - Ross Barkley - LINK, Aaron Lennon - LINK

Youth team - Anton Donkor (end of loan), Gethin Jones - LINK, Liam Walsh - LINK, Harry Charsley (loan) - LINK, Boris Mathis (loan) - LINK, Louis Gray (loan)

Out on loan - Kevin Mirallas - LINK, Sandro Ramirez - LINK, Ademola Lookman - LINK, Muhamed Besic - LINK

Let’s see how today goes.. keep the faith and COYB!