clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Everton U23 vs Arsenal U23: start time, lineups and preview

The young Blues aim for their fourth straight win, but could conserve resources as the senior team looks for replacements

Bolton v Everton U23 - EFL Checkatrade Trophy Photo by Nathan Stirk/Getty Images

Matches don’t get much bigger in the Premier League 2. Third place Everton will host second place Arsenal with only two points separating the two squads. Obviously, a win for the Blues would allow them to leap frog the young Gunners in the table.

Keep an eye on who David Unsworth uses at centerback in this match. Over the weekend, both Phil Jagielka and Michael Keane missed out on the senior team’s win against Bournemouth. That forced Mason Holgate, normally a right back, to move centrally and play alongside Ashley Williams. If needed, that will likely be the defensive partnership again on Thursday against Apollon Limassol in the Europa League. However, Ronald Koeman will probably want some kind of a center back on the bench, which he did not have on Saturday. Lewis Gibson would seem to be the favorite to step up.

You shouldn’t see Oumar Niasse or Jonjoe Kenny in this one. It would seem they have both made the jump to the big boys for good, or at least until Koeman changes his mind again. But we could have an Ademola Lookman sighting. He made the bench against Bournemouth but didn’t play. The young attacker needs some minutes to stay sharp.

Match Details

Date and start time: Monday, September 25th at 11 a.m. PT / 2 p.m ET / 7 p.m. BST

Stadium: Goodison Park, Liverpool, England

Capacity: 40,157

Weather: 59°F/15°C, cloudy, 17% chance of rain, 6 mph winds

How to Watch/Listen

There does not appear to be any broadcast information available at the moment. If we find anything, we will update this post accordingly.

Information from LiveSoccerTV.com

Lineups

Everton

Starting XI - TBA

Bench - TBA

Arsenal

Starting XI - TBA

Bench - TBA