clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Everton U23 at Derby County U23: start time, lineups and preview

David Unsworth’s team could be handicapped based on Ronald Koeman’s needs for Wednesday’s match against Sunderland.

FC Twente v Everton FC - Preseason Friendly Photo by Lars Baron/Getty Images

The most exciting group around Goodison Park right now would seem to be the Men’s U23 squad. They are the defending champions in Premier League 2, and have started the season brightly enough. Through four games, they sit third in the table with seven points, well behind Liverpool’s and Arsenal’s youth teams who have 12 points apiece.

Everton’s U23s are littered with some well-known names to most Toffees. However, they could feature a very different side with the senior team’s Carabao Cup clash coming on Wednesday against Sunderland. Simply put, anyone who features today will not play midweek for the big boys.

Some players to look for include Jonjoe Kenny, Ademola Lookman, Oumar Niasse and Luke Garbutt. The match against Sunderland is a good chance for Ronald Koeman to rest some of his most-used players, like Wayne Rooney and Leighton Baines. That may mean David Unsworth’s team is thin for this match.

Match Details

Date and start time: Monday, September 18th at 11 a.m. PT / 2 p.m ET / 7 p.m. BST

Stadium: Pride Park Stadium, Derby, England

Capacity: 33,597

Weather: 52°F/11°C, showers, 56% chance of rain, 4 mph winds

How to Watch/Listen

There does not appear to be any broadcast information available at the moment. If we find anything, we will update this post accordingly.

Information from LiveSoccerTV.com

Lineups

Everton

Starting XI - TBA

Bench - TBA

Derby County

Starting XI - TBA

Bench - TBA