clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Everton release 25-man squad for Premier League season

Niasse included in list along with two Under-23s

Tottenham Hotspur v Everton - Premier League
Everton players warming up before a game
Photo by Julian Finney/Getty Images

With the conclusion of the summer transfer window, Everton have submitted their 25-man squad list for the 2017-18 Premier League season. Among the surprises in the squad are Oumar Niasse, Sam Byrne and Gethin Jones.

Niasse has been out of favour with Ronald Koeman for some time now, but it looks like the Senegalese striker is set for redemption from the Under-23 squad following his failed transfer to Crystal Palace last night on Deadline Day. The forward will have shirt number 34 for the season.

Byrne is another striker in the final squad, but is yet to make his senior team debut. The 22-year-old product of the Manchester United Academy has 3 goals and 2 assists in 21 appearances for the Everton Under-23 team, and will wear number 40.

The soon to be 22-year-old Jones is a right back by trade and provides fullback support at a position that the Toffees find themselves with scant cover at. He received a call-up as standby for the Wales squad during the ongoing international break, to go with seven youth international caps.

Clubs are not mandated to add players under the age of 21 to the 25-player squad lists, which is why players like Dominic Calvert-Lewin, Tom Davies and Ademola Lookman are not on this announcement.

25 Squad players (*=Home grown)

  • Baines, Leighton John*
  • Barkley, Ross*
  • Besic, Muhamed
  • Bolasie, Yannick*
  • Byrne, Sam John*
  • Coleman, Seamus
  • Funes Mori, Jose Ramiro
  • Gueye, Idrissa Gana
  • Jagielka, Philip Nikodem*
  • Jones, Gethin Wynne*
  • Keane, Michael Vincent*
  • Klaassen, Davy
  • Lennon, Aaron*
  • Martina, Rhu-Endly Aurelio Jean-Carlo
  • McCarthy, James*
  • Mirallas Y Castillo, Kevin Antonio Joel Gislain
  • Niasse, Baye Oumar
  • Pickford, Jordan Lee*
  • Ramirez Castillo, Sandro
  • Robles Blazquez, Joel
  • Rooney, Wayne Mark*
  • Schneiderlin, Morgan*
  • Sigurdsson, Gylfi Thor*
  • Stekelenburg, Maarten
  • Williams, Ashley Errol*