clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Who could Everton face in the Europa League playoff round?

Blues through to next qualifier, draw on Friday afternoon

UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League - Q1 and Q2 Qualifying Round Draw Photo by Harold Cunningham/Getty Images

Everton looked unconvincing for long spells of the two legs of the third round qualifier against Slovak club MFK Ruzomberok, but eventually made it into the playoff round of the Europa League.

The Toffees will play one of the teams in the ‘Unseeded’ list below in the next round, with the draw determining the opponent and who is at home when.

WHEN IS THE DRAW?

The draw for the elimination round will be held at the UEFA headquarters in Switzerland on Friday 4th August at 13:00 CET (12pm BST, 8am EST). Click here to livestream, and the draw will also be televised live on BT Sport 3.

HOW DOES IT WORK?

Clubs were seeded according to their coefficient, then split into groups. The clubs in each group are ordered randomly and identified by a number. The process of how the teams will be split into groups is not very clear.

For each group of clubs, one seeded team will be drawn against one unseeded team, with whichever team drawn first playing at home in the first leg.

WHO IS IN THE DRAW?

Everton were seeded and placed in Group 2 as follows:

Athletic Club (ESP) 60.999

Salzburg (AUT) 40.570*

Braga (POR) 37.366

Everton (ENG) 29.192

Midtjylland (DEN) 16.300

Meaning Everton will play one of the following unseeded teams:

Vitorul (ROU) 5.870*

FH Hafnarfjördur (ISL) 6.175*

Hajduk Split (CRO) 11.550

Apollon Limassol (CYP) 10.710

Panathinaikos (GRE) 15.080

WHEN ARE THE QUALIFIERS?

The first leg of the qualifiers will be played on 17th August, with the second leg the following week on 24th August.