clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pickford, Keane get England call up

Southgate announces his World Cup qualifiers squad

Everton v Stoke City - Premier League Photo by Jan Kruger/Getty Images

There are two Everton players who made the England World Cup qualifiers squad for the international break coming up at the end of this month.

Wayne Rooney made an announcement yesterday that he would retire from international football despite being in the reckoning to make Gareth Southgate’s squad today.

Four goalkeepers have been named to the senior side, Everton’s Jordan Pickford along with Joe Hart, Tom Heaton, and Jack Butland. Butland is widely expected to be the starter with Hart struggling mightily. Another Everton new signing, Michael Keane, has also been selected to the squad.

Speaking to the media after the announcement, Southgate talked about a new era for the Three Lions -

"It's time to look to the future. You can see that from the squad we've named."

With Rooney retired, who will be the next captain of the England team?

"It's important to spread the responsibility throughout the team."

Pickford is one of three uncapped players in the squad, along with Leicester City’s Harry Maguire and Watford's Nathaniel Chalobah.

Here is the full squad:

Joe Hart (West Ham United (on-loan from Manchester City)), Jack Butland (Stoke City), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Tom Heaton (Burnley)

Ryan Bertrand (Southampton), Aaron Cresswell (West Ham United), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Phil Jones (Manchester United), Harry Maguire (Leicester City), John Stones (Manchester City), Michael Keane (Everton), Chris Smalling (Manchester United), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Tottenham Hotspur), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur)

Nathaniel Chalobah (Watford), Jake Livermore (West Bromwich Albion), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Danny Welbeck (Arsenal), Jesse Lingard (Manchester United), Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur)

Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Jamie Vardy (Leicester City), Jermain Defoe (AFC Bournemouth), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool)