clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Arouna Kone finally released by Everton

Everton confirm their retained list ahead of the new season

Everton v Sunderland - Premier League Photo by Chris Brunskill/Getty Images

After four years, 62 games, 10 goals and one camel, Arouna Kone has finally left Everton.

The Ivorian has been released following the expiry of the four-year contract he signed when becoming Roberto Martinez’s first signing in the summer of 2013.

Few Everton fans will mourn his departure. He seemed an affable character but his limitations were all too obvious. He sadly became a symbol of the club’s decline under our previous manager.

The fact he wore Everton’s treasured number nine jersey also irked a large section of the fanbase.

Also leaving the club is Conor McAleny. The striker joined Everton as an 11-year-old in 2003 and progressed through the academy before making his debut in 2011.

However, the Whiston-born forward has made just one senior appearance for the club since, being farmed out on loan on six occasions.

His most recent loan, at Oxford Utd, was arguably his most successful. McAleny scored 10 goals in 18 league games and it wouldn’t be surprising if The U’s snap him up on a permanent deal.

Also leaving the club are U21 players Jack Bainbridge, Delial Brewster, Michael Donohue, Tyrone Duffus, Russell Griffiths, Connor Hunt, Josef Yarney and James Yates.

We wish them all the best of luck in their future careers.