clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Everton add another friendly to preseason schedule

Blues to take on Belgian side Genk

FC Dynamo Kyiv v KRC Genk - UEFA Europa League
Genk players celebrating a goal
Photo by Genya Savilov/EuroFootball/Getty Images

Everton’s preseason schedule is starting to firm up with another date added to the calendar. The Blues will be traveling to Belgium as well now in their summer forays, this time to take on KRC Genk.

This game will mark their last outing before the Europa League Third Qualifying Round first leg game, with the opponents and the location yet to be decided. The draw for the first and second rounds was conducted yesterday, with the third round draw to be conducted on 14th July.

Opponents Genk finished 8th in last season’s Jupiler Pro League, and participated in the Europa League as well last season, getting eliminated in the quarter-finals stage of the competition by Celta Vigo. They were led by Tanzanian striker Mbwana Samatta who potted 20 goals and Greek forward Nikos Karelis who had an additional 18.

Here’s how Everton’s offseason calendar going into the new season is looking like now -

JULY

  • Sat Jul 1 - Summer transfer window opens
  • Mon Jul 3 - Players return to training
  • Thu Jul 13 - Pre-season: vs Gor Mahia (A)
  • Wed Jul 19 - Pre-season: vs FC Twente (A)
  • Sat Jul 22 - Pre-season: vs KRC Genk (A)
  • Thu Jul 27 - Europa League 3rd qualifying round (1st leg) (TBD)

AUGUST

  • Thu Aug 3 - Europa League 3rd qualifying round (2nd leg) (TBD)
  • Sun Aug 6 - Pre-season: vs Sevilla (H)
  • Sun Aug 13 - Premier League Matchday 1: vs Stoke City (H)
  • Thu Aug 17 - Europa League Playoff round (1st leg) (TBD)
  • Sat Aug 19 - Premier League Matchday 2: vs Manchester City (A)*
  • Thu Aug 24 - Europa League Playoff round (2nd leg) (TBD)
  • Sat Aug 26 - Premier League Matchday 3: vs Chelsea (A)*
  • Thu Aug 31 - Summer transfer window closes

SEPTEMBER

  • Sat Sep 9 - Premier League Matchday 4: vs Tottenham Hotspur (H)
  • Thu Sep 14 - Europa League Group Stage Matchday 1 (TBD)
  • Sat Sep 16 - Premier League Matchday 5: vs Manchester United (A)*
  • Wed Sep 20 - Carabao Cup 3rd round (TBD)
  • Sat Sep 23 - Premier League Matchday 6: vs AFC Bournemouth (H)
  • Sat Sep 30 - Premier League Matchday 7: vs Burnley (H)