clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Romelu Lukaku named in PFA’s Team of the Year

Rom’s successful season continues

Everton v Leicester City - Premier League Photo by Michael Steele/Getty Images

Romelu Lukaku’s wonderful campaign has been further recognised by his inclusion in the PFA Premier League Team of the Year.

The 24-year-old made it into the season’s standout XI following a vote by PFA members from 100 clubs across the Premier League, Football League and Women’s Super League.

Lukaku has already been nominated for both the PFA Players’ player and Young Player of the Year awards, with the winners announced at the 44th PFA Awards on Sunday.

It is deserved recognition for Rom who has been in outstanding form this season, with his 24 Premier League goals putting him on course to become the first Everton player to win the Golden Boot since Gary Lineker in 1986.

The rest of the side is perhaps unsurprisingly dominated by league leaders Chelsea and second-placed Tottenham Hotspur. Manchester United goalkeeper David de Gea, and Liverpool’s Sadio Mane complete the line-up.

There’s no place for United’s Zlatan Ibrahimovic or Arsenal’s Alexis Sanchez though despite both being nominated for PFA Players’ Player of the Year. No players from Manchester City made the cut either.

Speaking about Lukaku’s inclusion, manager Ronald Koeman said:

"Romelu has made a big impact, of course, with the goals he has scored this season.

"But his continued development in different aspects of play are just as significant in terms of his all-round effectiveness and productivity.

"He is continually improving and it's that total picture that makes him one of the best strikers."

Football stats site Squawka announced their team of the year, and there are some different faces in that lineup, though Lukaku made that team as well.

Squawka Premier League Team of the Year
Squawka Football