clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Everton in media partnership with The Open

The iconic golf Major will be held on Merseyside this summer

The Open Championship Media Day
The claret jug
Photo by Andrew Redington/Getty Images

For the first time ever, The Open has formed a media partnership with a football club as the golf championship has entered a deal with Everton to promote the summer event. The 146th edition of the historic event will be held at the Royal Birkdale Club in Southport from the 16th to the 23rd of July this year.

As part of the promotional acitivities for the event, the historic Claret Jug trophy can be viewed at the USM Finch Farm training ground later this month, and will also be at Goodison Park stadium before the end of the season.

Everton fans will also be able to receive this Toffee-themed Open championship cap when you buy a ticket between today and the end of the month using the online promotional code ‘146thOpenEve’.

The Open cap in Everton colours
The Drum

Here are comments from the club and the championship -

Everton’s head of engagement, Scott McLeod -

“This is an innovative collaboration between two of sport’s historic names.

“The North West is home to England’s Golf Coast and many Evertonians will also be golf fans, this media partnership will give our supporters the chance to get closer to one of the world’s greatest sporting events taking place on our doorstep.

“With some exclusive content planned with our coaching staff and players as well as golfers, we look forward to working alongside The Open on activating another Everton first.”

Michael Tate, executive director of business affairs at The R&A (organisers of The Open) -

“We look forward to working with Everton to help generate excitement for the Championship when it returns to Royal Birkdale for the tenth time this summer. I am sure we will see a number of Evertonians around the course during the week wearing their exclusive Club and Open caps as we watch Henrik Stenson defend his title of Champion Golfer of the Year.”