clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2018 World Cup Draw: How To Watch, Start Time, TV information

It’s that most wonderful time in international football!

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Final Draw for the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia - Previews Photo by Shaun Botterill/Getty Images


10:57 EST: Gylfi Sigurdsson gets the short end of the stick here, I’m afraid. Idrissa Gueye and Oumar Niasse could make some noise in Group H, though.

Group A: Russia, Uruguay, Egypt, Saudi Arabia
Group B: Portugal, Spain, Iran, Morocco
Group C: France, Peru, Denmark, Australia
Group D: Argentina, Croatia, Iceland, Nigeria
Group E: Brazil, Switzerland, Costa Rica, Serbia
Group F: Germany, Mexico, Sweden, South Korea
Group G: Belgium, England, Tunisia, Panama
Group H: Poland, Colombia, Senegal, Japan

And with that, the draw is over! Tons of Evertonians in Group D: Henry Onyekuru, Gylfi Sigurdsson, Nikola Vlasic, Ramiro Funes Mori.

Michael Keane and Jordan Pickford get a favorable draw as well.

10:45 EST: Just some delightful matchups so far. Michael Keane v. Romelu Lukaku. Ronaldo v. his Real Madrid teammates. Messi v. Nikola Vlasic.

10:44 EST:

Group A: Russia, Uruguay
Group B: Portugal, Spain
Group C: France, Peru
Group D: Argentina, Croatia
Group E: Brazil, Switzerland
Group F: Germany, Mexico
Group G: Belgium, England
Group H: Poland, Colombia

10:40 EST: Uruguay in Group A with Russia, and we have the makings of a group of death in B with Portugal joined by Spain.

10:38 EST: All the Pot 1 teams have been drawn.

Group A: Russia
Group B: Portugal
Group C: France
Group D: Argentina
Group E: Brazil
Group F: Germany
Group G: Belgium
Group H: Poland

Now it gets fun.

10:35 EST: Russia into Group A, Portugal into Group B, France into Group C, Argentina into Group D.

10:31 EST: Explaining the rules now. Please hurry.

10:25 EST: It seems we are actually about to begin. Russia, of course, will be drawn into Group A and play the opening match.

10:19 EST: Miroslav Klose spoke while presenting the World Cup trophy, and they cruelly showed highlights of Germany’s drubbing of Brazil. Now - more dancing.

10:13 EST: But first! An interpretive dance.

10:11 EST: Infantino and Putin are done, and we’re getting closer.

10:01 EST: We have allegedly begun. Vladimir Putin will speak, then Gianni Infantino.

9:52 EST: About ten minutes from starting to find out where various Everton players will be drawn in the World Cup. Favorable matchups for England, Michael Keane, and Jordan Pickford, you’d hope.

No matter what club and international teams you support, the World Cup draw is always a magical event (even if your team hasn’t made it to the global showcase). And today is the day we will watch the draw being made for the 2018 FIFA World Cup to be held in Russia from June 14 to July 15 at the end of this 2017-18 football season.

There are 32 teams that have qualified for the tournament are grouped in four pots as follows, with each of the eight groups having one team from each pot, with some rules enforced.

When and where is it?

The 2018 World Cup draw will be held at the State Kremlin Palace, in Moscow, Russia.

What time will it start?

British Standard Time - 3pm GMT.

US East Coast Time - 10am EST.

US West Coast Time - 7am PST.

How can I watch the draw?

UK - BBC iPlayer, SKY GO Extra, Sky Sports Main Event, Sky Go UK, BBC Two, ITV

US - Telemundo, FOX Soccer Match Pass, UNIVERSO NOW, Fox Sports 1 USA,Univision Deportes USA, beIN SPORTS en Español, FOX Sports GO, fuboTV,beIN SPORTS CONNECT U.S.A., FOX Deportes, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo,Futbol de Primera Radio, UNIVERSO

We’ll also be liveblogging the event right here on Royal Blue Mersey.

How does the draw work?

A total of 32 teams will feature at the 2018 World Cup, 31 qualifying from official competition and Russia making it in as host nation.

Those teams have been split up as shown into four pots shown above per current FIFA rankings. As hosts Russia go in Pot 1, with the other teams following by draw after that. Each team then has three group matches, before the top two in each group advance to the second round, and on beyond that in knockout format.

Who ends up where?

Here’s a handy-dandy draw simulator tool that you can play with to come up with dream (or nightmare) scenarios for your favourite team.

How they qualified

The 32 teams came from various confederations, as shown below.

  1. Russia (host nation)
  2. Belgium (Europe)
  3. England (Europe)
  4. France (Europe)
  5. Germany (Europe)
  6. Iceland (Europe)
  7. Poland (Europe)
  8. Portugal (Europe)
  9. Serbia (Europe)
  10. Spain (Europe)
  11. Switzerland (Europe)
  12. Sweden (Europe)
  13. Croatia (Europe)
  14. Denmark (Europe)
  15. Egypt (Africa)
  16. Nigeria (Africa)
  17. Senegal (Africa)
  18. Morocco (Africa)
  19. Tunisia (Africa)
  20. Iran (Asia)
  21. Japan (Asia)
  22. South Korea (Asia)
  23. Saudi Arabia (Asia)
  24. Costa Rica (North, central America and Caribbean)
  25. Mexico (North, central America and Caribbean)
  26. Panama (North, central America and Caribbean)
  27. Argentina (South America)
  28. Brazil (South America)
  29. Colombia (South America)
  30. Uruguay (South America)
  31. Australia (Asia)
  32. Peru (South America)