clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Scott Dann accuses Oumar Niasse of diving for penalty

Forward fights back against accusations

Crystal Palace v Everton - Premier League Photo by Alex Broadway/Getty Images

A minute into the game on Saturday at Crystal Palace and Everton were reeling once again. For the fifteenth time in seventeen games the Blues had conceded first, and going down a goal away from Goodison Park it looked like it was all over when the game had barely even started.

However, Oumar Niasse made a run into the box and went down going past Scott Dann. Referee Anthony Taylor pointed to the spot, Leighton Baines was as efficient as ever, and five minutes in the Toffees had tied the game, somewhat undeservingly it looked.

Dann was livid at the referee then, and after the game was still seething -

"He has conned the referee. I don't like to see people getting punished but also I don't like people diving to win penalties.

"(Niasse) probably knows he has conned them. If there was (contact) it was minimal. I haven't tried to tackle him; he has gone past me and you can see on the replays he has dived.

"At half-time, (Taylor) probably knew he made the wrong decision.''

Niasse was adamant though that he had been fouled, and believes the issue will not be reviewed by the diving panel today.

"People were saying that I fell down easily. I don't know. I didn't see the video again. To get into the box, I tried to dribble the guy; he was coming into contact.

"When I felt the contact, I knew then he pushed me away.

"The contact was on my upper body but when I felt the contact I was in the box so that is it: that is all I have to do, go on the floor. It was because I was running so quick.

"I will be shocked [if I am charged with diving] because there is contact."