clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Everton Ladies determined to get first win of the season

Doncaster Rovers Belles will be looking for revenge

Arsenal v Everton - Women's FA Cup Final
Everton, 2010 FA Cup Final
Photo by Clive Mason/Getty Images

Everton Ladies begin their WSL Continental Tyres Cup campaign Thursday against Doncaster Rovers Belles.

The Belles may be looking for some payback, considering Everton snatched up their top goalscorer, striker Courtney Sweetman-Kirk. To top it all off, both teams applied to come into the top flight this season but only the Toffees made it up while the Belles are still in the WSL 2.

Everton Ladies have lost their first three games and Sweetman-Kirk has yet to score a goal. That will hopefully change on Thursday, as she is determined to win:

“It will be great to see my friends there but at the end of the day, I am an Everton player now. Once I step onto the pitch, that comes first. There are no friends for 90 minutes. After the game, I will certainly have a catch up with everyone but I am there to win.

“We have got to build now and move forward. We can’t look at Doncaster as a WSL 2 team – they are going to give us a really tough test.”

Although the Ladies are winless so far, they are showing vast improvement with each game. They were able to score twice against WSL champs Manchester City in their last match and will be looking to build on from that performance.

@EvertonLadies vs @DonnyBelles

Keepmoat Stadium

FA WSL Continental Tyres Cup @ContiUK

October 12, 7:30 pm BST (2:30pm EST, 11:30am PST)

Video highlights from Everton’s last game: