clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

End of an era as experienced trio released by Everton

Pienaar, Osman and Hibbert among those to leave Goodison Park

Matthew Lewis/Getty Images

Everton stalwarts Tony Hibbert, Leon Osman and Steven Pienaar are among 10 players to be released by the Toffees at the end of their contracts this month.

The trio's departure marks the end of an era, particularly in the case of Osman and Hibbert, who have been with the club since they were teenagers and were part of the side that won the FA Youth Cup in 1998.

Hibbert made his senior debut in March 2001 against West Ham at Upton Park, going in to make a further 327 appearances for the Toffees.

He famously never scored a senior goal for the Blues, apart from in his testimonial in 2012, which sparked joyous 'riots' at Goodison Park.

Osman would take a little longer to break into the first team, enjoying loan spells at Carlisle and Derby before making his debut at the end of the 2003-04 season.

He became a regular the following year as Everton finished fourth and qualified for the Champions League and would go on to make 432 appearances in royal blue.

Osman and Hibbert, both 35, became two of David Moyes' trusted lieutenants and perhaps symbolised the Moyes era - what they lacked in ability was made up for in effort in application.

The Liverpool Echo reports that Osman and Hibbert are keen to keep on playing and hope to talk to incoming boss Ronald Koeman about his plans before making a decision on their future.

There is a chance they could be offered a new deal by Koeman, or even a place on the coaching staff, meaning they will not make any decisions about their future until they have spoken to the Dutchman.

Steven Pienaar joined Everton from Borussia Dortmund 2007, with his stay at Goodison Park punctured only by a 18-month sojourn with Tottenham Hotspur.

Pienaar is also keen to keep playing and is expected to end his career in his native South Africa.

Felipe Mattioni and youth players Jordan Thorniley, James Graham, Jindrik Stanek have also been released along with second year academy scholars Jamie Mellen, Spencer Myers and Ciaran O’Loughlin.