clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2015 Europa League Round of 16 draw live thread

New, comments

Blues to find out their next opponents on Friday

Dennis Grombkowski/Getty Images

Everton will only have a day to bask in the glory of a job well done in the Europa League before they find out who their next opponents will be. The Round of 16 draw will be held on Friday 27th February in Nyon, Switzerland at 1pm CET (12pm GMT, 7am EST, 4am PST). There are no more restrictions from this point on of the tournament, and Everton can be drawn against any team of the remaining fifteen. Teams drawn first will play the first leg at home on 12th March, with the return leg the week after on the 19th.

  • Club BruggeClub Brugge (BEL)
  • BeşiktaşBeşiktaş (TUR)
  • Dinamo MoskvaDinamo Moskva (RUS)
  • InternazionaleInternazionale (ITA)
  • EvertonEverton (ENG)
  • NapoliNapoli (ITA)
  • Dynamo KyivDynamo Kyiv (UKR)
  • FiorentinaFiorentina (ITA)
  • ZenitZenit Petersburg(RUS)
  • VillarrealVillarreal (ESP)
  • TorinoTorino (ITA)
  • DniproDnipro Dnipropetrovsk (UKR)
  • SevillaSevilla(ESP)
  • WolfsburgVfL Wolfsburg (GER)
  • AjaxAjax Amsterdam (NED)
  • RomaAS Roma(ITA)

The Toffees are the last remaining British side in the competition. Italy saw all five of their representatives make it through to the next round, along with two each from Spain, Russia and Ukraine. Germany, Netherlands, Turkey and Belgium provide one team each to round out the sixteen.

From what we have seen so far, the more attack-minded European teams have been cannon fodder for Everton so far in the competition. It's the smaller English clubs with the defence-first philosophies that have frustrated the Blues leading to some woeful domestic performances.

Join us here as we discuss the UEL draw!