clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Fixtures switched for TV coverage and Europa League

There are lots of Sundays....

Chris Brunskill

Well, it was good while it lasted.

The new fixture list released in June brought with it a string of beautiful 3pm Saturday kick-offs; but sadly they are no more.

Everton's participation in the Europa League as well as TV broadcasters Sky Sports and BT Sport, mean a number of games have been switched to a Sunday.

The Toffees' first two home games of the season against Chelsea and Arsenal have both been switched to 5:30pm (UK time) kick-offs for broadcast on Sky. Both games last season were also live on TV, with Everton winning both without conceding a goal.

Unsurprisingly the Merseyside derby at Anfield has been picked for TV. That will now kick-off at 12:45pm on Saturday September 27 on BT Sport. I don't have to, or indeed need to, tell you what happened in that game last season.

Three fixtures in October and November were always going to move to Sunday because of Europa League games on the Thursday, but the broadcasters have opted to screen them live as well.

The trip to Old Trafford to play Manchester United is now a 12pm kick off on October 5. The match against Burnley at Turf Moor is now a 1:30pm kick off on October 26 while the game at White Hart Lane against Tottenham will start at 4pm on November 30.

Finally, three games have been moved to Sunday because of Europe but will not be broadcast live in the UK.

The home game with Crystal Palace is now a 4pm kick-off on Sunday September 21. It will be a 1:30pm kick-off up at the Stadium of light for the game with Sunderland on Sunday November 9 while the game at home to QPR will now kick off at 4pm on Sunday December 14.

FIXTURE: Everton v Arsenal (H)
NEW DATE / TIME: Saturday 23rd August 2014 / 5.30pm
PREVIOUS DATE / TIME: Saturday 23rd August 2014 / 3.00pm

FIXTURE: Everton v Chelsea (H)
NEW DATE / TIME: Saturday 30th August 2014 / 5.30pm
PREVIOUS DATE / TIME: Saturday 30th August 2014 / 3.00pm

FIXTURE: Everton v Crystal Palace (H)
NEW DATE / TIME: Sunday 21st September 2014 / 4.00pm
PREVIOUS DATE / TIME: Saturday 20th September 2014 / 3.00pm

FIXTURE: Liverpool v Everton (A)
NEW DATE / TIME: Saturday 27th September 2014 / 12.45pm
PREVIOUS DATE / TIME: Saturday 27th September 2014 / 3.00pm

FIXTURE: Manchester United v Everton (A)
NEW DATE / TIME: Sunday 5th October 2014 / 12.00pm
PREVIOUS DATE / TIME: Saturday 4th October 2014 / 3.00pm

FIXTURE: Burnley v Everton (A)
NEW DATE / TIME: Sunday 26th October 2014 / 1.30pm
PREVIOUS DATE / TIME: Saturday 25th October 2014 / 3.00pm

FIXTURE: Sunderland v Everton (A)
NEW DATE / TIME: Sunday 9th November 2014 / 1.30pm
PREVIOUS DATE / TIME: Saturday 8th November 2014 / 3.00pm

FIXTURE: Tottenham Hotspur v Everton (A)
NEW DATE / TIME: Sunday 30th November 2014 / 4.00pm
PREVIOUS DATE / TIME: Saturday 29th November 2014 / 3.00pm

FIXTURE: Everton v Queens Park Rangers (H)
NEW DATE / TIME: Sunday 14th December 2014 / 4.00pm

PREVIOUS DATE / TIME: Saturday 13th December 2014 / 3.00pm