clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Seamus Coleman scoops double award

The Ireland right-back had his hands full at Wednesday's ninth Annual End of Season Awards, picking up the Players' Player and Player of the Year Awards.

Jan Kruger

In what has been a memorable season for the Blues, competition was fierce for the two senior awards, a change from previous years when there has usually been a stand out candidate.

The likes of Romelu Lukaku, James McCarthy, Gareth Barry and Ross Barkley were all in contention, but in the end Coleman, a £60,000 signing from Sligo Rovers in 2009, came out on top in both categories.

Though the Player of the Year - voted for by the fans - is seen as the biggest award of the night, Coleman must be equally delighted to have been voted by his own team-mates to lift the Players' Player of the Year, a recognition of both the impact he has made this season and popularity in the dressing room.

It is deserved recognition for a superb season that has seen the 25-year-old score a career high seven goals - a stunning total for a full-back - and thrill the fans with his lung busting runs down the right flank.

Ross Barkley also had a successful evening, deservedly winning Everton's Young Player of the Year award for the second year in succession.

Barkley also had two entries in the goal of the season award, with his strike against Manchester City last weekend the winner of a Twitter vote by the fans ahead of his strike at Newcastle, Coleman's at Swansea and Bryan Oviedo's winner at Old Trafford.

After a lengthy speech that involved thanking every member of the first-team squad, even Velios and Magaye Gueye, Bill Kenwright revealed Roberto Martinez had won the chairman's Blueblood award, with Martinez using his acceptance speech to thank the players, staff and fans for believing and sticking with his new footballing philosophy.

He also told us to get our passports ready!

Elsewhere on the night, the late Bobby Collins was named this year's Everton giant. The former Scotland international, who died earlier this year aged 82, played for Everton between 1958 and 1982.

Nikita Parris won the Everton Ladies Player of the Year. England Under-17 captain Ryan Ledson picked up the Academy Player of the Year Award while Tyias Browning won the Under-21 Player of the Season award.

Former chairman and Life President Sir Phillip Carter picked up the Howard Kendall award while the Everton fan of the year went to Roy Gregory, who has missed just two domestic and European games since 1958.