clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Baines, Jags and Barkley learn World Cup squad numbers

England confirm numbers ahead of trip to Brazil.

Richard Heathcote

Leighton Baines, Phil Jagielka and Ross Barkley have discovered what squad numbers they will be wearing at the World Cup this summer.

The FA have confirmed that Baines will wear his familiar number three shirt, reflecting his status as England's first choice left-back.

Ashley Cole has now retired from international football after he was told Baines would be first choice in Brazil and that Southampton's Luke Shaw would travel as his understudy.

Shaw has been given the number 23 shirt, the same number he currently wears for Southampton.

Phil Jagielka is first choice centre back alongside Gary Cahill, with Jags given number six and Cahill number five.

Interestingly, Ross Barkley has not been given the number he wears for Everton - 20 - with Southampton's Adam Lallana taking that shirt instead.

That perhaps suggests Lallana is more of a first choice than Barkley, who instead will wear 21. Though in truth a little too much can be read into who wears what number.

Manchester United's Phil Jones has been given the number 16 shirt as he continues his recovery from a shoulder injury.

John Stones has not been given a number as he is officially on stand-by, though that situation would of course change should Jones pull out and the Everton man take his place.

England squad numbers for the 2014 World Cup:

1. Joe Hart

2. Glen Johnson

3. Leighton Baines

4. Steven Gerrard

5. Gary Cahill

6. Phil Jagielka

7. Jack Wilshere

8. Frank Lampard

9. Daniel Sturridge

10. Wayne Rooney

11. Daniel Welbeck

12. Chris Smalling

13. Ben Foster

14. Jordan Henderson

15. Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain

16. Phil Jones

17. James Milner

18. Rickie Lambert

19. Raheem Sterling

20. Adam Lallana

21. Ross Barkley

22. Fraser Forster

23. Luke Shaw